My Question About DJ JaeMin’s Book

%eb%b0%98%eb%a0%a4%eb%8f%99%eb%ac%bc

My question for Hey Korean Mission:

Title: 애완동물 and DJ JaeMin’s book

Yesterday DJ JaeMin told CTW’s reporter Ms. Genie (Jin Hee? Sorry, I don’t know how to spell her name) about the photo essay book that he translated into Korean. I got the e- book edition of 사랑이 구한다 and even though there are many stories about pets in the book, I found that he didn’t use the word 애완동물 at all. Instead he used words such as 반려동물 (lit. ‘companion animals’), 반려묘 (‘companion cat’), and 반려견 (‘companion dog’) which were new Korean words to me.

Note: 반려 is pronounced [발ː려] = partner, companion.

ON-AIR

HyunWoo 선생님:
This one is from Andini as well. I think we mentioned these words but … OK! “About the photo essay book thatDJ JaeMin translated into Korean. I got the e-book edition of 사랑이 구한다.” Oh, you translated it into Korean.

DJ JaeMin:
Yeah.;)

HyunWoo 선생님:
I see. “I found that he didn’t use the word 애완동물 at all. Instead he used words such as 반려동물, 반려묘, and 반려견 which were new Korean words to me.”
This is great, great point. We didn’t really cover it the first segment.

DJ JaeMin:
True.

HyunWoo 선생님:
There’s a reason people don’t say 애완동물 and say 반려동물.

DJ JaeMin:
I think there’s era when we’re changing 애완 to 반려. 애완 basically means playing…

HyunWoo 선생님:
Yeah, like we’ve introduced before.

DJ JaeMin:
Focusing more on entertainment, for people.

HyunWoo 선생님:
Yeah, and also you possess the animal. But 반려 means ‘companion’. The dog is your life companion.

DJ JaeMin:
Yeah, like partner. It’s not like a toy, or anything. So we’re like switching 애완 to 반려 these days. But 애완 is very widely used.

HyunWoo 선생님:
Yes. So if you go to a park, here and there, you will actually see signs that say 반려동물 or 애완동물, half and half.

DJ JaeMin:
Yeah.

HyunWoo 선생님:
And if you know 반려 from 반려동물, 반려견, 반려묘, your girlfriend/boyfriend, your better half is 반려자.

DJ JaeMin:
Oh yeah, 반려자. 자 means ‘person’.

HyunWoo 선생님:
Yeah. Your partner.

DJ JaeMin:
You have a 반려자 right now.

HyunWoo 선생님:
Yes. I have a 반려자 and a child.

DJ JaeMin:
You have 반려자s.

HyunWoo 선생님:
반려자 is usually one person, your spouse, not your child.

DJ JaeMin:
I wonder when I will have 반려자.😄

HyunWoo 선생님:
Or 반려동물, when you decide to have one again.😄

DJ JaeMin:
I don’t know why we always end up talking about this topic.😄

HyunWoo 선생님:
It’s natural for a guy your age.😄

DJ JaeMin:
(in crying voice) I’m so lonely, CTW family.😥

***

Aww… poor baby.
DJ JaeMin is so silly. 😄 ###

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

